nederlands voor buitenlanders

Here you can ask questions or share your expertise about Dutch and Flemish university courses, the educational system, tuition fees, study grants & loans, and English language programs.
Daisy
Waardevol lid
Country of residence: Netherlands
Mother tongue: English

nederlands voor buitenlanders

Post by Daisy » Mon Oct 10, 2005 8:26 pm

i have been doing this home course for about 7 months now and it is going rather slow. I would not recommed anyone spending money on this course. There are 45 lessons and I am only on lesson 13! First of all you have to read and understand the story. Then you have to answer a few questions about the story, then fill in the blanks in another exercise. You can listen to the audio cds or tapes (very basic personal tape player is supplied that you cannot record your voice on :evil: ) with these storys. The software has the stories and spoken dialogue but you can only hear indvidual sentences or the whole paragraph. You can click on each word for the meaning but you cannot hear single words, sometimes the meanings are different to what is in the exercise book :-( The spoken language is quite fast so it is very difficult to distiniguish what is being said as you cannot slow down the speech. Again it has the same exercise in the book in completing the blanks. There is one more lesson on the software cd which is that you have to type what is being said. You can only hear the sentence once and they are usually quite long so often enough I get a low score which really makes you want to throw the course material out the window. This is a very basic course. The sentence and grammar structure is not explained in english in each lesson, only in dutch at the beginning of the book, quite a long section to read at take in at one go.... so I will not fully understand how to write or speak full sentences until I am on lesson 45, by then I should be able to read the dutch grammar section, if and only it is explained clearly