How to learn Dutch fast?

Ideas for learning Dutch. What have you tried? What worked for you? What did not work for you?
nephronim
Nieuwkomer
Country of residence: Netherlands
Mother tongue: English (Great Britain)

How to learn Dutch fast?

Post by nephronim » Wed May 20, 2009 1:15 pm

I have been working in amsterdam for a few months now and i am originally from Ireland.
I need to learn Dutch as fast as possible for work and needed some kind of course that starts as soon as possible.
I'm not earning a huge amount from work so i need something reasonably priced.
Can anyone suggest something, i really need to start this asap!

Thanks
Paul

bokassa
Waardevol lid

Re: How to learn Dutch Fast?

Post by bokassa » Wed May 20, 2009 5:16 pm

Hi, what's the craic. I lived in the Netherlands between 2000-2001. When I first moved I knew nothing of Dutch. Back to the uk, I had studied about 6 months on my own at the public library, but in NL I couldn't practice with anybody because my work colleagues were either foreigners and not interested in learning Dutch or Dutch and not interested in speaking Dutch with me.

I suggest that you buy or borrow a decent grammar book (there are tons at the Centrale Bibliotheek) and study on your own and then practice with Dutch people of ethnic minorities (Turks, Surinaamse, Somali) and in general with people who speak Dutch but are not very good in English. I learned a lot when I worked in a factory in the south and my colleagues were refugees from the Middle East. So, in other words, avoid the cultured people, they probably are of no use.

If you have a tv watch the news and activate the subtitles, so you can associate the words with the sounds (...noises).

Grytolle
Superlid
Country of residence: Belgium
Mother tongue: Swedish
Second language: English
Third language: Dutch
Fourth language: German

Post by Grytolle » Wed May 20, 2009 8:58 pm

Pretend like you don't know English :D
:-)

darwin
Waardevol lid
Country of residence: Romania