Pretending to not speak English.

Ideas for learning Dutch. What have you tried? What worked for you? What did not work for you?
leukstudent
Nieuwkomer
Country of residence: Netherlands
Mother tongue: English (Australia)
Second language: Dutch
Third language: French

Pretending to not speak English.

Post by leukstudent » Tue Jan 01, 2013 3:07 pm

Hello,

I will arrive in the Netherlands (Tilburg) in 2 weeks to live there. I can speak some basic self taught Dutch and know how to ask simple questions and do shopping. I often hear that people who speak a basic level of Dutch will get responded to in English rather than Dutch...

So what I want to do is pretend that I don't speak English when I am in an Eetcafé or the supermarket. I am thinking the best nationalities to pretend to be would be Bulgarian or Hungarian as it is unlikely to meet someone who speaks those languages in Brabant (I think).

Anyway, I want to know if any of you guys have had experiences with people pretending not to speak English or if you have used this trick yourself. How did it go?

Before I land I may learn some very basic Hungarian phrases (hehe).

Bert
Superlid
Mother tongue: Hungarian

Re: Pretending to not speak English.

Post by Bert » Tue Jan 01, 2013 6:15 pm

Hi,

The problem with pretending to be e.g. a Hungarian is that the Dutch are aware of the fact that nowadays everybody speaks English. :) Or German. The other thing is, you will speak with your unusual accent, plus unconsciously will say "and" instead of "en", "supermarket" instead of "supermarkt" etc..

You can say to the lady in the supermarket:
- Ik kan u helaas niet goed verstaan. Kunt u wat langzamer/trager praten, alstublieft?
- (The lady says) Let's talk in English, why not, I love speaking English. :)
- Engels? Nee, het spijt me, maar ik heb me voorgenomen dat ik geen enkel Engels woord zou uitspreken zolang ik in Nederland zou verblijven. :)

Goede reis,
Bert