Difference between daarna / nadat / na

[voegwoorden]
You can use a conjunction to link words, phrases, and clauses: "I studied for weeks but I passed my exam." "Can you see anything or is it too dark?" "Tell me when you are ready to go." "He is taller than I." "He made notes while[/] the teacher was talking."
mazzatex
Lid
Country of residence: Netherlands
Mother tongue: English

Difference between daarna / nadat / na

Post by mazzatex » Tue Nov 14, 2006 11:08 pm

Hi there!

Hello to you all - I'm new on hear, but it looks like a really good site!! Well Done!

Anyway, could you tell me please, the difference between daarna, nadat and na. I think I might know already but am not sure:

'na' you use to mean after but follow it with a noun:
Na het ontbijt, heb ik naar mijn werk gefietst.

'nadat' you use to indicate something will have happened/occurred:

Nadat we hebben gegeten, gaan we naar het feest.

'daarna' you can only use in a 'first...then/after...' type situation:
Eerst moet ik dit opruimen, daarna zullen we eten.

Also, only 'nadat' is subordinating: its a subordinating conjunction. But what about the other two? What category of words do these fall into?!

Am I correct with these sentences? Personally, I don't find them that easy!

Thanks,
Matt

ps- if I have made any errors in the above sentences, if you could point these out too please! thanks!

Quetzal
Retired moderator
Country of residence: Belgium
Mother tongue: Dutch (Flanders)

Post by Quetzal » Tue Nov 14, 2006 11:15 pm

You are correct about "na" - used with nouns. "Nadat" is, as you also said, the version for verbs that makes them subordinate; it's not necessarily related to the future though. Works in the past too:

"Nadat we gegeten hadden, gingen we naar het feest."

As for "daarna", it's an adverb. As for the use, like you said, it's used when summing up several things that will happen, that are happening or that have happened in a certain order.