need to learn job-specific vocabulary. please help?

Here, you can introduce yourself. What is your reason to learn Dutch? Work or study? A Dutch-speaking loved one? Sheer curiosity? Share it with us!
shadowcat
Nieuwkomer
Mother tongue: English (United States)

need to learn job-specific vocabulary. please help?

Post by shadowcat » Sun Feb 10, 2013 10:46 pm

hi everyone! I am moving to the Netherlands later this year and i am a welder. I am going to live with my fiance, and i want to find a job there as a welder. I have recently begun to grasp most of the dutch grammar structure, taken online courses, and doing rosetta stone ect. So far with my learning process however, i cannot find where i can learn vocabulary to talk about welding in dutch. Its probably one of the most important practical aspects of my learning that i don't know how to get to yet, i mean i know only a couple tool names and terms for measurement, steeksleutel, tang, ect but thats about it. Maybe theres some dutch-speaking welders who could help me expand my vocabulary? :).
also, i work wierd shift hours, and have trouble finding the time to be able to study lately. I also find that i can read and write in dutch very well, and understand what i read and hear well, but when i form my own sentances it is more difficult to recall off by heart. Quite frustrating sometimes xD. Any remedy for this?
Thanks.

ngonyama
Superlid
Country of residence: United States
Mother tongue: Dutch (Netherlands)
Second language: English
Third language: German
Fourth language: French
Fifth, sixth, seventh, ..., languages: Russisch, Xhosa

Re: need to learn job-specific vocabulary. please help?

Post by ngonyama » Mon Feb 11, 2013 5:22 pm