Hallo allemaal

Here, you can introduce yourself. What is your reason to learn Dutch? Work or study? A Dutch-speaking loved one? Sheer curiosity? Share it with us!
StevenM
Nieuwkomer
Country of residence: Australia
Mother tongue: English
Second language: Dutch

Hallo allemaal

Post by StevenM » Sat Feb 20, 2016 7:13 pm

Hi there! My name is Steven, and I live in Australia. I've been learning Dutch on Duolingo for a few months now, and have a reasonable grasp on understanding simple sentences (although writing it is still a challenge, hence this post being in English).

I started learning Dutch because I want to move to the Netherlands. Well, mainly I want to move out of Australia (for a number of reasons I could go into, but I'll keep this brief), and ever since I visited Amsterdam a few months ago, I've developed a fondness for Dutch language and culture. If I'm going to move somewhere, I might as well pick a place I really like. I'm planning to move next year (so no big rush yet), but I'd like to be prepared when the time comes.

However, my situation is a bit unusual, and I was hoping for some advice from someone who knows how the process works. I'm in the fortunate position of being in an industry where working remotely is an option, so while I technically do want to go there to work, it will be easiest if I keep my current employment for now so I don't have to look for work there -- one less thing to worry about.

The confusion is that all of the documentation surrounding work permits is written assuming that the employer is in the Netherlands. Making the inference that I do not require a work permit to remain employed by an Australian company, I am not sure what I need to do when applying for a residence permit. None of the categories in appendix 6 of Residence in the Netherlands seems to apply to my situation.

Also, I don't qualify as a highly skilled migrant because I don't have a degree, if that makes a difference.

These are the specific questions I have: