Hadden Moeten - PP vs. infinitive

[werkwoorden]
Regular verbs, irregular verbs, auxiliary verbs, compound verbs... When do we use which tense? What about those strange constructions the Dutch use to make a continuous? "Staat" my book on the shelf or "ligt" it? Ask all about Dutch verbs here.
Dutchlearner101
Nieuwkomer
Country of residence: Netherlands
Mother tongue: Spanish
Second language: English (United States)

Hadden Moeten - PP vs. infinitive

Post by Dutchlearner101 » Tue Dec 29, 2015 2:37 pm

Hi,

I am just learning Dutch from a few months ago. I wanted to know for the "should have" = "hadden moeten" if the main verb of the sentence is in past participle or infinitive form and most importantly to understand why.

The example below was given in one of the sections of the website (http://www.dutchgrammar.com/en/?n=Verbs.Re24):
Ik had dat niet moeten zeggen = I should not have said that

However, I do not get why it is not "Ik had dat niet moeten gezegd"

If it changes to conditional perfect, then it does change to PP right?
Ik zou dat niet hebben gezegd?

Does the rule of infinitive for the main verb only applies to the "Hadden moeten".

Thanks in advance.

Dolo
Superlid
Country of residence: Poland
Mother tongue: Polish
Second language: English
Third language: Dutch

Re: Hadden Moeten - PP vs. infinitive

Post by Dolo » Tue Dec 29, 2015 5:29 pm

When there is more than verb at the end of the sentence, then both verbs are in the infinitive.

ngonyama
Superlid
Country of residence: United States
Mother tongue: Dutch (Netherlands)
Third language: German
Fourth language: French
Fifth, sixth, seventh, ..., languages: Russisch, Xhosa

Post by ngonyama » Tue Dec 29, 2015 6:01 pm

It is not

Ik moet dit gezegd

but

ik moet dit zeggen

In the perfect it is the verb moeten that should become the pp

Ik had dit gemoeten

But if there is another verb, this does not happen (as Dolo said)

ik had dit zeggen gemoeten --> Ik had dit moeten zeggen

Dutchlearner101