Amsterdam Accent

[spelling en uitspraak]
How do you pronounce 'gezellig'? What is the difference between 'eu' and 'ui'? How do you write...? You can use the phonetic keyboard if you are familiar with phonetic symbols.
[Jan. 12, 2008: due to the forum update, the phonetic keyboard has been temporarily disabled.]
Jaelynn
Nieuwkomer
Country of residence: United States
Mother tongue: English (United States)

Amsterdam Accent

Post by Jaelynn » Mon May 28, 2012 1:54 am

Hoi mensen!

I've been studying Dutch for a few months now in preparation for spending the summer in Amsterdam. The hardest part is learning the pronunciation ... especially since the speakers on my CD's all have different accents :D I would really like to use an Amsterdam accent that's appropriate for a college student. If you could point me to a website or some YouTube clips that might help me with this, I would appreciate it so much!

Lately I've been listening to YouTube clips of Nicolette van Dam, since there are a lot of them and she's a young Amsterdamse. If my ears aren't deceiving me, she uses a tongpunt-r (clearly rolled)/gooische-r and the throaty x sound for g/ch. Would you say her accent is pretty typical for the area?

ngonyama
Superlid
Mother tongue: Dutch (Netherlands)
Second language: English
Third language: German
Fourth language: French
Fifth, sixth, seventh, ..., languages: Russisch, Xhosa

Re: Amsterdam Accent

Post by ngonyama » Mon May 28, 2012 3:15 am

Her accent is not particularly Amsterdams, but yes there are a lot of people that talk this way, so you would not stand out.

Jaelynn
Nieuwkomer

Post by Jaelynn » Mon May 28, 2012 6:25 am

Thanks for your reply! Are there any celebrities you can think of who have a more typically Amsterdams accent? And was I right about Nicolette using the tongpunt-r along with the gooise-r? Or does she roll a huig-r ... it's hard for me to tell :?

ngonyama
Superlid

Post by ngonyama » Mon May 28, 2012 1:39 pm

No it is not a tongpunt-r.